Ooooooh, say what say what say what!

Ok, I don’t even know where the first half of June went. Let me try to sum it up:

June 1: I had my show for Rudin Management outside on Park Avenue. It was a beautiful, hot day, and I did a one-hour set. It was both a lot of fun and an exercise in extreme stamina. By the end of it, my shirt was soaked through with sweat under my corset. Charming. That’s keepin’ it real!

June 2-present: I have been helping to organize the Pop Music Stage at Figment (www.figmentproject.org) as well as a benefit concert and dinner to help out Team Buhara, a Ugandan education and healthcare outreach NGO. God, do I hate organizing shows!!! No more after this.

June 11-13: FIGMENT! God help us all.

June 8: I went up to Spence to have dinner with my former flute teacher, and while we were sitting outside eating at Jackson Hole, a group of Spence girls approached me and said “Sorry to interrupt! We know you’re having dinner, but would you mind taking a picture with us?” And then they took my picture with them! So cute! It’s so funny to me how anytime I go near Spence, the girls recognize me and talk to me like I was just there yesterday. I love being recognized and having people get excited about seeing me when I’m just out and about, so that is always awesome. It’s also the only time that ever happens so far, LOL.

June 10: Awesomely, Comandante Zero has asked me to be the “knob girl” for their upcoming performance this Saturday at 5pm on the Colonel’s Stage at Figment on Governors Island. This means I get to press buttons that play samples and loops during their live set. I also get a sample solo and I get to play the keyboard part on my one of my FAVORITE songs of theirs, “Wake Up in New York” LIVE ON STAGE WITH THEM. I love it! So awesome! I rehearsed for 3 hours today in an indie Brooklyn band. I’m so not hipster enough for that, and yet it’s something I’m doing and loving. Really looking forward to that show!

Once this totally ridiculous weekend is over, I gotta get back to booking mad gigs for the next few months, since I don’t really have anything nailed down yet after June. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

