Sunday’s show was so much fun!

Sunday night was crazy. I went out to Jersey to see the debut of the film that used my song, “Anything You Want.” It was quite intense. VERY dark movie, but my song was used just the way I expected, as the background music for a scene portraying a photography shoot of a model. Everyone liked my song and another filmmaker who was there is interested in using my stuff in her films because of it, so that was great.

After that, I went to my friend’s birthday party, where I performed on the dancefloor, then I ran off to Posh bar to do the 11:30 show with Mimi Imfurst and Go-Go Harder Faster Stronger. (Sometimes I wonder if I should have a crazy stage name, but I don’t want to be called anything other than JC, and hey, Britney and Madonna use their real names!)

The show at Posh was so much fun, and another important reminder that being out there on the scene makes such a difference in my career. That night, I got a lot of sign ups to the mailing list, met a fabulous DJ (DJ Scotty Rox) who is super sweet, loves the same music I do, and wants to play my music in the clubs! I sold my CDs and made new friends, including the fabulous and hilarious drag queen, Blackie O (I cannot get over these amazing names!!!), and met the manager of Posh, who is interested in having a lot more shows/programming there, and it was great to find out that he’s a really sweet and approachable guy who loves what I do. Once you get out there, you find that the people who control access to the stages you want to perform on are really not scary or mean at all. In fact, they’ve been nothing but friendly and fun so far!

Leave a Reply

