The Songwriters Hall of Fame Showcase went SOOOO well!!!

Singin' songs!

Last night I performed in the Songwriters Hall of Fame showcase at The Bitter End in NYC, and it was SO AWESOME. Luckily, I seem to have really tapped into some kind of awesome energy when I was performing last Saturday, and I was totally in that space again for this show. When I went to the showcase back in the fall, an amazing Indian group called Falu closed the show, and they were so amazing that even after two hours of watching nonstop acts, the audience was begging for an encore. I really hoped that, since I got to close the show this time, the audience would ask me for an encore, and they did!! Luckily, I had planned for that and prepared to sing “Everybody’s Crazy In New York” as my encore, which went over great. Before that, I did Dance Dance Dance and My Ex Is Delicious, which everyone loved.

Also, for the first time since I’ve had my CDs to sell (only the last two shows, but still), I sold 6 CDs, and people were BEGGING to sign up on the email list! I was so happy to have really blown people away. The other awesome thing was that SO MANY of my friends showed up, including people who are at every show, people who came to one show a year ago, and people who had been meaning to come to a show for months. It was so great to have such solid support and to give such a great show when I had everyone there. It was also really interesting to learn that when letting people pay what they wanted for my CDs, the price still worked out to $10/cd, since some people paid less and some paid more. Very good to know, and very exciting!

People have also started to bring friends to my show and get them to sign the email list as well, which is awesome and just what I need/want. AND the show was caught on tape and film from multiple angles, so I look forward to showing you those videos and pictures! I also met a lot of great people, which will hopefully lead to some cool collaborations and friendships.

I’m also so relieved to see that playing shows with just me and tracks can be so well-received. It’s awesome to be working with a DJ now for my live show as well, but it’s good to know that if I ever need to do a totally solo show, the audience will still be totally into it. I’ve also been getting a lot of compliments on my production skills, which is awesome since that’s the area in which I feel I know the least. But if I still know how to make songs that people like, that’s a great place to start! Yay!

Leave a Reply

