What I’ve been up to over the last week or so…

JC Cassis Photo Credit: Alex Green

Man, I have been a busy, busy bee! But SO many exciting things are happening right now! I’ll list as many as I can remember, completely out of order:

1. Had an AWESOME show on Saturday night at the Art for Progress Clash of the Artists. Everyone who was there said it was my best show ever, and I agree. I practiced more for this show than I have for any other show EVER since I finally actually have the time to practice, and I think it REALLY helped. Not only was I more vocally prepared, but my lyrics were cemented into my head to the point where they were on autopilot and I could do all my dancing around and getting on and off stage and interacting with the audience without missing a beat or a word. I’m also trying to practice as much as possible so that I don’t get so overwhelmingly out of breath during shows, like I have in the past. I think the practicing really helped with that too, since I didn’t get quite so out of breath this time, and I was still moving around a lot and singing at full volume. Also, practicing more has given me the time and opportunity to find better ways and places to breath during a song so I feel more comfortable. Here’s a tip for all you singers out there: sometimes it’s better to inhale less often. You don’t always need to re-fill on breath when you’re only half empty. I find it helpful to just sing to the end of a breath and then breathe again, unless there are too many words between breaths. But I used to think I should inhale whenever possible, and that’s definitely not true.

2. Also through practicing, I finally got the chance to start hammering out what moves I should do during my songs. After watching many pop performances, it became clear that it’s really helpful to have recognizable, highly imitable dance moves to do on the chorus of the song. Just makes things a bit more cohesive and gives you something concrete to do in terms of movement, which makes the performance look more polished and well thought out. Yay.

3. Got my music uploaded to both Pump Audio and Rumblefish, two licensing companies that will hopefully help get my music placed in various media including commercials, internet video, TV and film. I really want to get my new material out into the world, so hopefully that will help! Also got my music onto MusicSupervisor.com, another licensing company. Just need to get it into every other possible licensing company now, and hopefully those placements will start rolling in!

4. Also finally put my music on Podsafe Music Network, a site where you can upload your music so podcasters will know they can use it in their podcasts. Hopefully will bring in more exposure.If you’re a podcaster, you can grab my music from PMN here: http://www.musicalley.com/music/listeners/searchResults.php?SearchString=JC+Cassis&go2=Search+Keywords

5. Indeed, just a few days after putting my music on PMN, I was approached on facebook by someone who wants to add my music to his online radio station, LongIslandOnlineRadio.com. He says they get about 2,000 listeners a day and are trying to get up to 50,000 listeners/day. At this point, any exposure is critical and exciting, so I’m pumped!

6. Finally, after months of wanting to, I GOT MY OWN WIRELESS MIC!!! It is such a godsend. It has made my performance SO much better and SO much more fun. There have been so many times when I’ve had to perform with a regular, corded mic, where I’ve tripped on the cord, stepped on the cord, not been able to dance or go out in the audience because of the cord, etc etc. It’s like a leash, and I’m not the kind of performer who needs to be on a leash!  (I know my friend Michael is laughing at that!) But seriously, having the freedom to dance however I want and go wherever I want without having to worry about a cord is SO AMAZING. If you are a performer who moves around, GET A WIRELESS MIC RIGHT NOW. You’ll be so glad you did!

7. I was approached to have my song used in a film project! Unfortunately it’s super low-budget so there’s no pay, but I’m so glad about it anyway. What happened was that my friend in the NYC music scene whom I knew randomly through another friend in the acting world, acted in a film project, and when the creator of the film needed music similar to mine, my friend suggested she check out my music. She did, and then she wrote to me on facebook asking to use my music in her film, I said yes, she picked “Anything You Want” for the film, and now she’s going to put it in her film and invite me to the premier! This is the first time I’ll have an experience like this and I’m so excited. Here’s the trailer for the film (it doesn’t have my song in it, but the full movie will!):

So that’s what’s been going on! And on top of that I STILL need to make the music video for Everybody’s Crazy in New York and edit it together, book some shows, etc etc etc. The work never ends. But it’s all good and I know it will be fruitful!

Leave a Reply

