I got a feelin’…that this year’s gonna be a good year!

I have already had a fantastic 2010 so far. New Year’s was spent staying up all night with my best bud Elijah, the guy I wrote “Friday Night Forever” about, like we love to do. It was complete with crazy face paint, a sketchy part of Brooklyn, a ridiculous party, a 3am trip in freezing weather to a Dunkin’ Donuts where the only way we could get served was to WALK through the DRIVE-THROUGH, plenty of laughs at outrageous comments, sleeping at the party, sleeping on the train to Manhattan, fried chicken in the East Village at 5am, and general good times.

Jan 1 was a little dead, but Jan 2, Saturday, I went to meet Elijah at Club 57, the much buzzed about Saturday night party, and we had the best time, dancing like mad and running into college friends as well as meeting new friends! That night I met two awesome new guys, one from Brazil and the other from Argentina. Then I went out with the Argentinian on Sunday night to a hilarious drag show, where we danced till 2am and met two hot, sweet Venezuelan guys! Then we went to Greenhouse for their awesome Sunday night party where we had the BEST time and ran into the Brazilian again, then we hung out on Monday afternoon and bonded over our mutual love for the movie Rent, among other things, then on Tuesday we went dancing till 3:30am, where we ran into one of the Venezuelans again, then we hung out in a 24 hr Starbucks talking and bonding and listening to music until 6am! That was the most fun I’ve had in a four day period in a long time. There’s nothing I like better than meeting new people that I really like and being really excited to stay friends with them forever because they’re so awesome. And since my insane friends keep moving out of New York, it’s good to keep getting out there and replenishing the friend supply. I’m so glad the album’s finished so I can go out again!

I also realized that making friends from all over is awesome because it ups the chances of me getting to do shows in more places. I currently am talking to friends about performing in Tucson, Boston, Long Island, Buenos Aires, Florida, California and Pennsylvania. I may not go on an actual continuous tour, but instead do shows here and there all over the world, as they come up. I’m excited about that! And who knows, maybe if I bring CD’s and t-shirts with me to sell, and the shows are well-promoted and well-attended, it could be a nice little money maker. The more I look for opportunities to do paying, well-attended shows, the more I find they’re totally out there, within my reach. One of my big goals this year will be to do shows in as many places as I can. After all, wouldn’t you think a little bit more of an artist who can say she performs all over the country/world than one who can’t?

Because of my new friends, new experiences, the fact that my album’s totally done, and some decisions I’ve made about important changes I’m making in my life, I am feeling REALLY good these days, and I intend to keep it that way. Life is so much more fun when you are excited about it! 🙂

How’s your 2010 so far? Leave a comment below and let’s chat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

