The key to success in music is…

Music! After months of trying to juggle EVERYTHING about my music career at once–songwriting, organizing my band, setting up rehearsals and booking shows, making my website, recording, promotion, etc etc etc, it dawned on me that the key to all of this, the one thing I need above everything else, right now, is as many great recordings of great songs as possible. The single most important thing I should be doing, and should get done as soon as possible, is finish writing and making as many great songs as possible, and put them out for people to hear. No one will care how good my pictures or website or marketing efforts are if my music sucks or isn’t available to hear, but if I have great songs they can listen to and nothing else, those great songs will still make an impression.

So right now, I am doing everything I can to finish my album this month. So far I’ve got 6 recordings out, one more recording ready to go to the studio, two more tracks ready for vocals, and three or four more songs written and ready to be made. The goal is to have all the rest of the tracks for the remaining songs made by 9/10/09, when I go away for a few days, so that when I come back, I can just record the rest of the vocals over the course of about ten days, then take them into the studio to get finished so I can release them. Once allllll the work is done making the songs, I will pick the four best for my demo and get demo cd’s printed up to give out to industry contacts, as well as probably print up full albums to sell and give away at shows. Then I will focus my efforts sharply on publicity and shows, hitting up the music blogs hard, trying to get my songs licensed for use in film and TV, and making music videos. I hope that this will garner some positive press, which will bring more awareness of my music and more fans into the fold. Sitting here thinking about this is making me realize how much time it will all take, which is a little daunting to think about, but hey, every dream worth living takes a lotta lotta work, and I have no way of knowing what will come at the end of all this effort, but the point is that I’m making music I’m really proud of and excited about and I expect it to do really well once it gets out there. All the people I’ve showed it to have really enjoyed it, and I don’t see why bloggers and industry folk should be any different. I’m prepared for some harsh feedback from some people, but mostly I expect positive feedback.

Also, since I specifically started this blog with the intention of shedding light on how things actually happen for me, now might be a good time to mention how my networking is going. I don’t think it’s prudent to name names of people I’m talking about since they’re industry folk and I wouldn’t want to upset them in any way by attributing any comments to them that they didn’t want on a blog, so I’ll have to protect identities here in case things ever develop which would make that necessary. But in short, here are some networking things that have happened recently:

-At a music networking event, I met a lovely music lawyer as well as a fabulous DJ who helps select acts for SXSW, a very important music festival.

-I have a friend who’s signed to a major label and with whom I’m talking at length and in detail about this friend’s experiences in this friend’s position, which is fascinating and helpful.

-Through people being aware that I want to make music my full time career, I have been put in touch with a very successful and sweet music manager, and an awesome producer, and I’ve been hooked up with an awesome paying gig, and invited to do lots of cool shows.

The take home message about all this is:

1. Be as good as you can possibly be at what you do. Do whatever it takes to make your music amazing.

2. Talk about it constantly. Let people know you’re constantly working, producing and moving things forward. Then when they hear of things and people that can help you, they’ll hook you up.

3. People in the music industry are really, really nice and approachable and cool, so don’t be afraid of them or think they’re inaccessible. You just have to approach them the right way and you’ll be all set.

I haven’t entered into any working relationships with these people yet, but as I get ready to take things to the next level once I have my demo and album ready, these will be excellent people to know and talk to, and they could end up being extremely helpful, even pivotal, in my career. So in short, I’m feeling good about how building my contacts in the industry is going, and all it’s taken is some networking, chatting, making new friends, reconnecting with old ones, and having fun the whole time!

Leave a Reply

