Behind the scenes…

So over the weekend I filmed more of the “Everybody’s Crazy in New York” video which was SO much fun, because we were filming the dance sequences! I had no idea that dancing my own choreography with other people to my own song would be so very hilarious, but for some reason I could barely stop myself from doubling over with laughter every time we did a take. I guess because the song is so silly, and the steps are silly, and yet we were performing them with such seriousness and attention to detail in order to get them right. Plus, I don’t know if you’ve ever been in a dance class, but if you have, you know that the way dance teachers talk is hilarious. They speak rhythmically to lead you through dance steps in this hilarious way, and name the moves ridiculously to fit in the rhythm, and when you imitate it it is just so funny. For one of the dance routines, my talk-through was, “5, 6, 7, and, Westside Story, Westside Story, chug, chug, get the diva out, pre, pare, turn around, step and throw, back and down, switch, kick, turn your face, slow motion, slow motion, freestyle, freestyle, S, S, turn and face!” because that’s what fit the sequence, but it was so funny to say that like a dance teacher while teaching the steps to the two dancers, and then to see them do these silly steps I had made up in my living room and make them look beautiful was just too much fun.

This video is going to blow your mind. The dance sequences look SO awesome. I missed dancing! And synchronized, comedic dancing is the absolute best kind. You’re gonna love it when you see it. Should be done in the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

