Amazing show last Thurs, another great show coming up this Thurs!

Wow, I feel like I blog all the time and yet every time I go to post, I see it’s been two weeks since my last post. Ayayay.

So, the gig at R Bar last Thurs was so, so awesome. The venue looked and sounded great, and because the bar part isn’t separated completely from the music part, people in the bar who didn’t know us came in to watch the show, and they really loved it! It was so great. Having everyone in the bar come in to the back room doubled the size of our audience, and there was a lot of dancing and singing along, which was great. I noticed that that did not happen at all for the other acts, so I take that to mean that our sound was especially catchy and intriguing. Yay! There were stripper poles on the stage and I could go out and sing in the audience without getting feedback in the monitors, so it made for a much more movement- and audience interaction-friendly show, which was so awesome. At one point I even laid all the way down on the floor while singing a song. Can’t do that in other venues! Yay for R Bar’s setup!

We also did a cover of “Man in the Mirror” as a tribute to Michael Jackson. The amazing thing was, the time we played it on stage was the first time we’d ever played it together. We mentioned that maybe we should do it two days prior in rehearsal, and then the night before the show we were all emailing each other saying “I LEARNED MAN IN THE MIRROR!! DID YOU GUYS LEARN MAN IN THE MIRROR!?!??!” And everyone did. Yayyyyyyyyyyyy it was so rockin’!!!

Having my good pal Dan Freeman of Comandante Zero sub in on keys was soooooo great. He played the parts just like they are on my recordings, right down to playing the exact synth sounds that I use in Reason when I make the songs, and it sounded so great. The rest of the band sounded awesome as well, and most of the guys decided to dress alike, in skinny ties, vests and white shirts. My drummer joked that he was playing with the Jonas Brothers, but they looked awesome. For my part, I wore my big red feather headdress, crazy facepaint over my eyes, double fake fur cuffs, a studded shirt, zebra print leggings and knee high wrestling boots. So awesome. I will be posting some amazing pics and video of the show here very soon.

Musically we were really rockin’. It was the first time we did a full set of all dance-pop songs, none of the old stuff from the first album. I have been writing up a storm and it feels really good. What felt especially good was that this show was so great and the audience was so into it, that each time I finished a song, the audience really erupted into that kind of really sincere, excited cheering you get when people are really bowled over by what you just did. There’s nothing better than rocking out in the crowd, spitting the last line of a song hard into the mic clenched in your fist, then turning around and striding back onto the stage while people are screaming and clapping because you just rocked them. Aaaaaaaaaaah so awesome. Also, it was great to debut the three new songs I had not yet performed (Dance Dance Dance, Good Time and Anything You Want), because when I wrote Good Time, I was worried that musically it was too boring and repetitive (even though, while writing it, I listened to Lady Gaga’s “LoveGame” to see how repetitive and simple that track is, and it is really repetitive and simple, and people (including me) love it), but when we played it, people totally lost their shit over it. They LOVED it and they were singing along to the repeating parts, and it was awesome. It is so great and so helpful to be able to test my stuff out in front of audiences regularly, and it really builds my confidence when they love stuff that I wasn’t sure was good enough. Makes me trust my ear even more.

Just wanna mention, in case I ever get big, that I totally went up to the people I didn’t know in the bar and let them know that I was the ten o’clock act and I really hoped they would come in and watch. It was scary and a little awkward and totally unglamorous and un-diva like, but when you want success, you have to hustle for it, even if it’s uncomfortable. I’ve heard from people in the biz that Madonna was quite the hustler back in the day. So.

Because of the success of that show, I will be playing another show this Thursday July 16 at 10pm at Rebel, 251 West 30th Street, btw 7th and 8th avenues. Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

