So much news!

Ayayay so much has happened in the last few days! I got the new songs up on the myspace and my website, and people really enjoyed them at the show. I just finished the dance remix of “Can’t Stop” with Lee-Sean, will post it asap, and it sounds awesome. So now I finally have a nice little set of dance recordings ready to go, and it’s just gotta be nose-to-the-grindstone getting the rest of the songs I have in mind done over the next few months so we can have like two set’s worth of dance songs to play. I’m SO glad to be writing regularly again!

The problem is, I should really re-brand myself completely now as a dance-pop artist, which means taking down the old stuff and replacing it with the new. And redesigning the website and doing lots more music videos to replace the ones I won’t be promoting anymore and blah blah so in a way I’m back to square one. Yowza. But I’m so much more excited about the music and the shows this time around I really don’t care. This new music kicks ass and having danceable, fun music will be a big help. The music videos also now would make much more sense being weird or witty or really memorable because I’ll be able to dance in them and use more humor etc. It’ll be great.

In other news, we’re losing our fabulous drummer to LA and the glare of Hollywood. Nicole’s going out there to pursue acting and music opportunities that have arisen, so we need to find a new drummer stat. I’m working on it and it’s going ok. Wish me luck and put me in touch with any drummers you know!

Also, in exciting collaboration news, I have found some new collaborators in a songwriting and production team in New Jersey whom I found through a music biz event. Now because I always hate it when people can’t explain how they got certain opportunities, this is exactly how I got this opportunity: 1. I met one of my best friends, Elijah, at Harvard. 2. Elijah’s ex-roommate is a girl named Joanna who lives in Brooklyn and wants to get into the music biz. 3. Joanna is on an email list called Women in Music which you women should all get on. 4. Joanna told me about the Women in Music list because she knew it would help me out. 5. I got on that email list and someone emailed out something about a music publisher’s organization called AIMP which regularly holds helpful events for music makers in NYC. 6. I registered for an AIMP event a while ago and got on their email list. 7. They emailed me about a song pitching event where songwriters would receive instructions on what kind of music a few artist’s A&R teams were looking for, including Leona Lewis’ team. 8. I went to that event, where there was a sign up list for producers and songwriters in attendance to be able to talk to each other and work together on the songs to pitch to the artists’ teams. 9. I signed up and so did all the producers. 10. I went through the list and reached out to all the producers offering my skills as a singer. 11. One of the producers who got back to me had a great song finished for which he needed a demo singer. 12. We arranged a time for me to come in and sing the song. 13. We did that on Friday night and finished the song in 6 hours. 14. It was a great time and we were both happy to work with each other, and now the production team wants me to come back for future demo singing needs, and I want to keep working with them as well. So THAT’s exactly HOW IT HAPPENED. Now, everyone else who has cool things happen to them, can you please learn how to explain it like I just did and stop pretending it’s always some magical fairy tale with no explanation? EVERYTHING HAPPENS SOMEHOW. Ok.

So they’re going to pitch that song to Leona Lewis’ team, and if her team has half a brain they’ll take it because it’s awesome.

Now, I’m off to band practice and hopefully some more work on my new songs later tonight! Enjoy the new stuff on my myspace and website!

Leave a Reply

