The awesomeness that is tween girls

Recently, I played another show for the middle school students at my K-12th Grade alma mater, The Spence School in Manhattan. Hands down, this is the best audience I’ve ever had. Two years in a row now, they’ve blown me away with their enthusiasm for my music, and it makes me feel so, so good. Last year I was so excited because after I played they were all so interested in knowing where to get my music etc etc, but this year blew last year away. Here are a few highlights:

-During “You Don’t Have To Worry,” some girls put their arms around each other and began swaying back and forth to the music, spontaneously! There was also clapping along to the beat.

-When I said I was going to play “Chocolate Cake,” there was a cheer like you can’t believe. They were SO excited for it, and this was 9 months after they’d first heard it. Amazing.

-When I sang “Chocolate Cake,” THEY KNEW THE WORDS! They knew ALL the words, and they were dancing and singing along all in unison–it was amazing!

-When I said “I don’t know if you’ve been following what I’ve been up to over the last few months, but if you have, you might know this next one–it’s called ‘Texas Boys,'” they SCREAMED with excitement. They all knew about it, they knew the words, and they wanted to sing along. So I brought a couple of girls up and they sang it with me!

-One of the girls actually made me a customized “Texas Boys” cowgirl hat, complete with a homemade “I ❤ Texas Boys" sign on it. That’s my first fan gift ever! Amazing!

-After the show they all wanted my and Socrates’ autographs, and we each signed a LOT of them. I love that.

So, Spence middle schoolers are the best. If any of you gals are reading this, thanks again! You made my day and I’m so happy you’ve got this old Spencie’s back!
-JC

Leave a Reply

